November 14

My AMAZING WORK!! ~ Language Arts

Hello! Now, I am going to be talking about my best work for language arts! This will include two pieces of work because I am really proud of these two things!

The first thing is an essay about the book, Outsider.  We had to explain what a character meant in his quote.  It was really fun to look deeper into what the character meant.  Here is the essay:

In chapter 9, Johnny tells Ponyboy to “stay gold.”  It is a reference to the Robert Frost poem that Ponyboy recited to Johnny when they were at the hideout in Windrixville Church.  I think that Johnny also means to “stay innocent.” Johnny applied this to youth and innocence. Nobody can be unaffected by the harshness of life.  Johnny seems to realize how useless fighting is, so he tells Ponyboy to stay innocent. He could have great qualities that set him apart from the rest of his group.  

“Nothing gold can stay,” means that all good thing must come to an end.  The name of the Robert Frost poem is Nothing Gold Can Stay. The poem says, “Nature’s first green is gold, her hardest hue to hold.  Her early leaf’s a flower; but only so an hour. Then leaf subsides to leaf, so Eden sank to grief, so dawn goes down to day, nothing gold can stay.”  You cannot be untouched by the harshness of life. Eventually, everything will lose its innocence, but Johnny wants Ponyboy to keep his innocence for as long as he can.  

Johnny want Ponyboy to keeps his innocence.  He wants his golden traits to set him apart from the rest of the Greasers.  Johnny knows very well that Ponyboy is better than the regular Greaser. To Johnny, fighting is useless.  Compared to Greasers such as Dally, Ponyboy seems like a person who wouldn’t hurt a fly. Ponyboy becoming like Dally is the last thing Johnny would want.  Ponyboy has many qualities that make him unique compared to the average hoodlums.

In the quote, Johnny applied youth to what he meant in his quote.  Nobody can stay innocent for their entire life. Everyone is affected by the roughness of society.  Johnny wants Ponyboy to stay the smart and intelligent boy he is. He should always be able to look at sunsets, movies, and books to find happiness.  

All good things must come to an end.  You can’t avoid what life has coming. Johnny has and always did want the best for Ponyboy.  He saw the good in him when everyone else didn’t.

I chose this because I was REALLY proud.  I spent a lot of time and thinking to make this.

The next piece of work that I am going to show is my Challenger Mission Resume.  It is just a cover letter, but I was really proud of it.  It took me a LONG LONG LONG time to think about what I was going to write.  Here it is:

Dear Ms. Kojima,

My name is Raya, and I am writing to apply for the Remote and Life Support position at the Challenger Mission.  I work well with others, and I am a quick thinker. I can solve problems quickly. I think that I would be a good fit for both of these jobs.

My first choice is Remote.  I have the skills needed to do well for this job.  I have good teamwork skills and I can work really well with people. One of the roles of Remote is to identify and solve emergencies.  I have good critical thinking skills and can work with others to find the best solution to a problem.

My second choice is Life Support.  Again, I have good teamwork skills, so I would be able to work well with my partner.  One of the roles of Life Support is to conduct test and record results. I am meticulous in work and believe I would excel in making sure that tests are accurate. Another one of the roles in Life Support is to work well under stress. During my 6 years of playing golf, I have had my fair share of stressful situations, and I have learned how to excel in those scenarios.

Sincerely,

Raya


Posted November 14, 2018 by hmsraya in category 🌟Best Work🌟

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*